Ribbons

I’m pretty speechless today.  I have three days left before the Rock ‘N’ Roll San Diego Marathon, and I am all mixed up with emotions; anticipation, nervousness, joy, sorrow, hope, love, fear, anxiety, excitement …

So, because I am currently mentally organizable, I want to leave you with my favorite personal-touch-project of this my first season with Team In Training.

When I joined Team, I set out to run a marathon in honor of Annie.  I didn’t realize just how many people I would meet in these last six months; how many people I would add to my prayer list; how many people I would want to help along the way.  Obviously, little bitty me can’t help everyone that I’ve met or heard about recently.  But I always try to do what I can.  So, I’ve collected names and stories of those touched by cancer – any cancer.  Who they are, what they’ve battled, if they’ve won victoriously or if they had to say goodbye.  I made a list and kept them and their families in my prayers along the way, and when I felt frustrated or upset with my training it was helpful to think of them and what they’ve been through (and suck it up and carry on with my miles).

I just finished making a ribbon for every single person that I’ve met or learned about.  I will be able to carry everyone with me – all twentysix.two miles of the way!  I have tied these ribbons to my hair band, so that when I am running they will all get to blow in the wind and give me extra strength!  I would like to briefly introduce you to them.  There are a lot of names below, but each one means something incredibly important either to myself or to someone I know.  There is a prayer for each one of them, and a special spot in someone else’s heart that belongs to them.

Light purple ribbons are for those who have very sadly lost their fight:

Steven, Francis, Ray, Rita, Joshua, Susan, Eddie, Maryam, John, Betty, Lou, Charles, Cathy, Joy, Hayden, Gwen, Thomas, Carolyn, Ella, Socorro, Jesse, Michelle, Janice, Dale, Charles, Ron

Dark purple ribbons are for those who have won their fight, or are currently still fighting their battles:

Annie V., Paul, Alan, Dennis, Nancy, Ken, Brett, Mae, Braydon, Ida, Chris, Cynthia, Joy, Aarion, Tommy, Charles, Nonnie, Nancy, Carol, Donna, Rebecca, Sue, Wayne, Annie B., Phil, Sherrie, Casper, Patricia, Lorraine, David, Roberta, Vera, Jesse, Julie

.
I want to thank everyone that shared their story, or the stories of their loved ones with me over the last few months.  I truly appreciate you and your encouragement through my training!!!!

Love,
Mae


4 responses to “Ribbons

  • Annie

    You’re amazing. And you’ll be amazing this weekend, too. Love and hugs!

  • Antoinette Hummeldorf

    Sis while you will be running with the wind in your hair and the ribbons flowing with the breeze I will be lifting you and the lives you have touched with this project in prayer and hopes that God will hold us all on our journey bof life. You are a wonderful example of God’s compassion and a model of how God’s love reaches out to humanity!
    I’ ll be running with you in spirit and in prayer.

    Love ya,

    Antoinette

  • Sarah

    Thank YOU! Everyday I think about Joshie and wish I could see his smiling face or hear him tell Myleeah some of those tall tails like he used to…. I miss him sooooo MUCH!!!

    I pray that you and the rest of the runners make it through safely and that the money raised will get us closer to a cure…. I am with you in spirit my friend, be safe!!!

    RELENTLESS for a CURE!!!!!!!

    Love you!

    Sarah

  • Susan Blair

    I know your marathon was fabulous that you did great! I didn’t see Ian’s name on your ribbon list, but, thankfully, he’s one of the dark purples!! Way to go!
    Susan

Leave a comment